Stornoway Release Re-Issue Of 2010 Album

Stornoway Release Re-Issue Of 2010 Album

Stornoway early this year announced that their debut albums Beachcomber’s Windowsill (2010) and Tales From Terra Firma (2013) are making a long-awaited return to vinyl after over a decade. Released by 4AD on January 19, 2024, these new editions will be pressed on black ReVinyl and housed in FSC-sourced card sleeves.

“It’s incredibly meaningful for us to see these first two albums reissued on vinyl. They were all crafted in DIY fashion - recorded on an 8-track portable machine, in barns, churches, camper vans, and even college bedrooms. Each track holds memories from that exhilarating time in our journey. We poured our hearts and souls into these albums, and the songs still resonate deeply with us today, playing a significant role in our live performances. We sincerely hope you enjoy revisiting them as much as we have!” - Brian Briggs

Stornoway, the indie-folk quartet formed by Oxford University students Brian Briggs (vocals, guitar) and multi-instrumentalist Jon Ouin, later joined by South African brothers Rob (drums) and Oli Steadman (bass), cultivated their unique sound as a DIY guitar band steeped in folk traditions. After releasing a series of EPs, they signed with 4AD, unleashing Beachcomber’s Windowsill in May 2010, a debut album celebrated for its captivating melodies and emotional depth. Featuring hit singles like ‘Watching Birds’, ‘I Saw You Blink’, and ‘Zorbing’, the album swiftly achieved Silver status in the UK.

Format: LP

A1. Zorbing
A2. I Saw You Blink
A3. Fuel Up
A4. The Coldharbour Road
A5. Boats and Trains
A6. We Are The Battery Human
B1. Here Comes The Blackout
B2. Watching Birds
B3. On The Rocks
B4. The End of the Movie
B5. Long Distance Lullaby




Leave a comment